User Tools

Site Tools


add_user

Add User

If you are not the only user of your computer, you can create new users to protect your data and your preferences.
Adding a user create a new folder in your system. This folder gets the name of the new user and the default settings of HandyLinux. It will be readable (you can view the data of another user), but not in writable (you can not create or modify data).
HandyLinux has a simple graphical tool to perform this task, but you can also go through the terminal and the command “adduser”.

The GUI way

To add a new user to your system , go to the HandyMenu, section “Raiders” then “Application Finder” . In the category “System” , select “Users and Groups” :
The window that does appear displays your user account and its specificities. You can then change the settings of your account or create a new one . Your password will be requested.

  • To add a user, click on “Add” in the left column:
  • You must fill in the full name of the new user and its login (identifier used to connect to the session):
  • Then comes the choice of the password (to be completed by hand, but you can also automatically generate it):
  • Once again , your password will be requested and the user will be finally created …:

Advanced settings allow you to define more precisely the rights and opportunities of each user.

The CLI way

Time to get serious : adding a user with a terminal. This operation requires administrator rights :

  • Open a terminal from the HandyMenu, Section “Raiders”, button “Open a Terminal
  • In the terminal window, enter the command that will create the user : “new_user_login”.
    Note that you must enter the login name and not the full name ( you will be asked later) :
    sudo adduser new_user_login


  • Your password will be asked:
  • The creation of the new user starts and you must now enter its password (twice to confirm - password is not displayed and this is normal):
  • Once the user is created , let's enter additionnal informations. You can specify the full name of the user, his extension number at work, his professional and personal phone numbers and any comments.
    Once done, confirmation is displayed . If you agree, press [ Enter] or [O] (the letter not the number) button to complete the creation of the new user :


The new user can now login with his username and password to launch HandyLinux. He can store his data , configure his environment without any risk for your data and your settings.
Note that the new user will have the ability to perform administrative tasks.

Restrict user's permissions

To protect your data or limit the rights of one user, it is sometimes necessary to restrict the rights and/or permissions of another user. This procedure requires the administration rights and it is executed using the Terminal.

Remove administration capacities

To avoid errors when you share your computer, you probably want to be the only “administrator” of your machine. When you use administrative rights, you go through the “sudo” command. This command refers to a group of users. To remove administrative rights to one given user, simply delete this user from the group “sudo”:

  • Open a terminal from the HandyMenu, “Raiders” section
  • Type the following command, replacing “josua” by the identifier of the account you want to restrict the rights :
    sudo deluser josua sudo

    Your password you will be asked.

  • Et voilà !

Restrict access to your datas

To avoid viewing your data by another user , simply change the permissions of your files . This change is selective, allowing access only to certain data … the ones you choose to share .
The procedure is done directly from your file manager “Thunar” :

  • In “Thunar” window, right-click on the folder you want to protect (here the “Documents” folder). The contextual menu appears, choose “Properties” :
  • In the displayed window, select the “Permissions” tab. This tab allows you to control access to the given file and its any included sub-files :
  • In this “Properties” window, left-click on “Others” (the other users groups ) and then select the option “None” (no possible consultation) of the open drop down menu:
  • A confirmation to apply same access restrictions to included sub-files is requested. You just have to say “yes” :


You can now close the “Properties” window, your “Documents” folder will be inaccessible by any other users.

add_user.txt · Last modified: 2017/01/14 03:01 (external edit)